Featured Video

We have important news to share with teachers, parents, and readers of all ages!  Please visit our new blog.                                       

August 10, 2016


Every month, TAB editor Kristin will be sharing her thoughts on five titles from our… Read More

June 1, 2016

The ALA Awards Are Here! Congrats to the Winners!

Early this morning—abominably early if you happened to be on the West Coast—people who dedicate their lives to children’s books gathered to hear the American Library Association’s announcement of children’s book awards for 2014. For all intents and purposes, any children’s book published in the United States was eligible for one or more of the awards announced this morning, so there is always potential for some big surprises. Happily this year, surprises were well balanced with favorites.


The most anticipated awards for most readers are also the ones that have been around the longest: the Randolph Caldecott and John Newbery Medals. This year, both lists had surprises and shoe-ins represented!

The Newbery Medal is awarded for a lasting contribution to children’s literature, and this year the committee declared one winner and presented four books with honor medals. The quirky Flora & Ulysses by our current National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, Kate DiCamillo, will now sport a shiny gold foil sticker. Doll Bones by Holly Black, The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes, One Came Home by Amy Timberlake, and Paperboy by Vince Vawter will all be graced with sparkly silver medals.


Awarded to picture-book illustrators, the Caldecott usually offers a surprise or two. The surprise this year is that all three honor books are wordless (or nearly so)—a common factor no one could have predicted! Journey, Flora and the Flamingo, and Mr. Wuffles! might not quite work as read-alouds, but they are terrific titles to share. The winner of the Caldecott Medal this year is a nonfiction labor of love—Locomotive by Brian Floca. This author-illustrator travelled and researched extensively in order to get every detail just right.


Other awards announced today included the Printz (for young adult literature), the Coretta Scott King (for African American authors and illustrators), the Pura Belpré (for Latino authors and illustrators), the Theodor Seuss Geisel (for beginning readers), and the Schneider (for books about the disability experience). Many of these books are available now through Scholastic Reading Club online.


Congratulations to all of the authors and illustrators honored today—and thank you to all the committee members for working so hard to spotlight these noteworthy books!

Tags: , ,


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

January 27, 2014